Laugh With the Moon Book Review

This review is addressing the book Laugh With the Moon by Shana Burg.

 

To give you some background information without completely disclosing what the book entails, the book is about a 13 year old named Clare. Clare lost her mother and became angry when her father told her he was taking her to Malawi, Africa for 64 days. Her father is a doctor and went there to help medically. Clare hated it at first but soon learns to love it and does not want it to end. She begins picking up a little Chichewa, which is the native language and settles into this new life.

I found myself in 13 year old Clare. I know what it is like to feel loss, and sometimes new things are hard for me. I also love the fact how much she cared about Fred, as I am an avid animal lover as well. The book seems targeted for middle school students and it is a bit sappy. However, it is definitely on my list of favorites. It teaches of friendship and heartbreak. It contains death and the reality of the unfairness in the world. It shows father and daughter bonding through their own grief. The book name comes from what Memory, Clare’s new best friend says, ” Even the mourner must stop and laugh with the moon.” It teaches powerful lessons and I would definitely give this to anyone to read. 4 out of 5 stars for me.

 

Sorry for such a short review, but it has been a little while since I read it.

Leave a Reply

