“Refuse to Let The World Corrupt You”

“Refuse to let the world corrupt you.” We live in a world full of heartache and pain where people are abusing alcohol and drugs to fill the void of emptiness inside themselves. There is something bigger and more life changing than anything else that can fill that void: love. As human beings we have a need to give and receive love but more times than not we let the hatred of the world seep into us instead of the love inside of us to seep out.
When I was in Memphis, Tennessee doing mission work, I met a little boy around 7 years of age and he told me that there are more bad than good people and that a person can never change. My heart shattered a little bit in that moment, but I made the realization that a lot of people think that way, even the people who need to change. We are our biggest enemy. We keep ourselves from opportunities, necessary changes, and even love.
I have always had a heart for helping other humans and animals. To care for and to love others is one of my main purposes in life. I am planning to major in Social Work and eventually go overseas. My dream is to go to Africa to help in villages that do not even have clean water. However, I can not and will not limit myself to one city, one state, or even one country. I want to show anyone and everyone that there is love and hope. I want to find the people who are so filled with hate all they see is darkness, so I can come in and show them a better way.
When I help others, whether it be loving on children in Memphis or writing articles for my town’s website, I feel complete. I know I have a purpose in life, and it is to help others. I am not the best writer, but I write in sincerity. God bless.

Leave a Reply

